I Am Woman, Hear Me Roar

This is me.
That is me.
I’m both.

I am comfortable in shorts and crop tops.
I am comfortable in sarees and churidars.
I’m both.

I am married.
I have a full-time corporate job.
I’m both.

It’s either a 0 or an 1 at every level, except one- I am a woman. As a woman, I can do everything.

Neither shorts define me, nor sarees. Neither my husband defines me, nor my job. It doesn’t matter whether I’m a Ms. or a Mrs.
The shankha-pola and sindur don’t define me either.
I don’t have to leave my job to raise a child, when I have one.
I don’t have to give up shorts because society might call me “undisciplined”.
I DEFINE ME.

It is high time that all men and women realize that women are humans too. If men can have jobs and a family at the same time, SO CAN WE! If men can party all night and still be the apple of everyone’s eye, SO CAN WE! If men aren’t thrown stones at for choosing to focus on their careers, is shouldn’t happen to women either.
A man’s character isn’t questioned when he goes on multiple dates or drinks and smokes or when he gets two promotions in one year, then why does it all happen for women ALL THE DAMN TIME?

So question, critique, and protest. The fight is gonna end soon.

Strong women support other women. So on this International Women’s Day, let us know them, be them, and raise them.

Breaking glass ceilings and patriarchy, one day at a time ✌

#womenforwomen #internationalwomensday #influencer #lifestyleblogger #mumbaiblogger #standstrong #fightstronger #inittowinit

Leave a comment